Beef Noodle Casserole


Back in my younger [not-so-smart] days, I absolutely loved the boxed beef noodle dinner. Eventually I got clued in as to how unhealthy processed foods were and began eliminating as much of it as I could. And that included my much-loved beef noodle. Pout

It didn’t take long before I found myself eyeing those boxes on grocery store shelves, wondering if it would be so bad to buy one, just this once. However, the cravings were quickly silenced once I looked over the ingredient list.

I simply couldn’t justify putting that garbage into my system.

So what’s a girl to do?

Scour the ‘net for a scratch-made version, of course!

As usual, I found exactly what I was looking for!

And here it is, the recipe to give your hamburger a helping hand!
IMG_0140Adapted from: Cook Book Fixation

INGREDIENTS:
227g uncooked egg noodles
1 Tbs. olive oil
1/4 cup diced onion
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 lb. extra lean ground beef
2 tsp. Bragg Liquid Soy Seasoning (a non-GMO soy sauce)
1 tsp. Worcestershire sauce
1 tsp. sea salt
1 tsp. chili powder
1/2 tsp. ground black pepper
1 Tbs. flour
1 cup low-sodium chicken broth (honestly, I just use water and can’t tell that anything is missing.)
1 cup shredded cheddar cheese

METHOD:
Cook egg noodles according to package directions. Meanwhile, heat oil in a large skillet, sauté onion 1 to 2 minutes. Add garlic and cook another 30 seconds or so. Add beef; cook until no longer pink. Drain off any fat and return to skillet. Add seasonings, liquid soy, and Worcestershire sauce. Stir in chicken broth (or water), flour and cheese. Cook, stirring often, until cheese is melted and liquid has thickened somewhat. Drain the cooked noodles and stir into the beef mixture. Simmer 5 to 10 minutes. Yields 4 Servings.

**I enjoy this topped with homemade BBQ sauce (recipe coming soon!) or even ketchup.**

NUTRITIONAL INFORMATION:
(Calculated using water in place of broth)
Calories: 610
Fat: 28.6g
– Saturated: 12g
– Cholesterol: 96.3mg
Sodium: 1,134mg
Carbohydrates: 41.7g
– Fibre: 3g
– Sugars: 1.9g
Protein: 45.9g

Thoughts?