Chicken, Peas & Rice… for dummies!


…or anyone in a rush for that matter!

My apologies for the lack of recipe posts of late. Despite the undeniable fact that home cooked meals and baked goodies are far superior in both taste and nutrition, I have found myself wanting to dine out lately. Seriously, I would be eating out for every meal, 7 days a week if the budget allowed!

And so with the confession out of the way, on to today’s “recipe,” if it even qualifies as one. I threw this concoction together back in my teen years, and though I still enjoy making and eating this dish, I now use brown rice instead of instant white, and turkey instead of chicken.
IMG_0156What you will need:
Half a 425g (15oz) can of sweet peas, drained
1, 156g (5.5oz) can flaked chicken (reserve the liquid)
2/3 cup rice, uncooked.

How to make it:
Cook rice according to package directions, but omit any recommended butter or salt, as there is enough sodium in both the peas and chicken to season the dish very nicely.

While the rice is cooking, remove the chicken from the can, reserving the liquid. Crumble or mash the chicken into very small pieces. When rice is done, immediately mix all the ingredients together and spoon onto serving plates. Drizzle a little of the reserved liquid over each and serve. Yields 2 moderate servings.

I recently tried this with approximately 1/4 cup each of finely chopped green pepper and onion sautéed in butter, then thrown into the mix… very good 🙂

Now then, which restaurant do we hit this evening…?

Thoughts?